Who has the Honour?

Who has the Honour? That seems like a simple question: We all know that it’s the lowest score – but when you’re playing with handicaps, is it the lowest gross score, or lowest net score?

We were just asked that question, and thought it was good enough to share the answer with everyone.

The answer can be found in the Rules of Golf – Rule 10, specifically:

In Match Play the honour goes to whomever won the hole. If you’re playing with handicaps, then it’s based on net score. If you’re playing without, then it’s based on gross score.

In Stroke/Medal Play the honor always goes to the lowest gross score, even when you’re playing with handicaps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *